Church of St. Peter the Apostle, columns, capitals and fifteenth-century frescoes
In Romanesque style, the original church was built in the early 12th century; an inscription on the entrance doorway indicates the date 1108. Destroyed in 1361 it was immediately rebuilt, but underwent its most extensive transformation, which was based on neoclassical taste, between 1823 and 1837 giving it its current appearance. The bell tower was built in 1842 and was designed by local engineer Biagio Schiedi. Restoration work carried out in 1962 brought to light remains of elegant earthenware tile columns dating from the ancient Romanesque building and fragments of 15th-century frescoes of the Virgin with Child and the head of an old hermit on the counter-façade, visible to the left of the entrance doorway. Outside, the façade is decorated at the top with small, but elegant earthenware tile trefoil arches, while inside the church retains its original plan with a central nave and two aisles. The first span of the left aisle boasts part of an ancient earthenware tile pilaster with a characteristic capital with “rounded corners”. Also worth noting is the ceramic baptismal font, created by the Minardi brothers of Faenza around the 1920s.
(photo gallery of Gabriella Fabbri)