Church of Our Lady of the People
In 1506 a papal bull issued by Pope Julius II authorised the construction of the Church of Our Lady of the People and a monastery. They were built near a small cell, known as “St. Joseph at the Four Roads”, which housed a 14th-century fresco of Our Lady with Child. The new church was consecrated on 8 April 1537. It underwent transformation work in the second half of the 18th and early 19th centuries and the new temple was inaugurated in 1857. Inside, the church boasts six chapels along its single nave (three on each side) that are adorned with paintings by Forlì-born artist Giuseppe Marchetti (1722-1801). The walls of the nave and the presbytery were decorated by Cesena-born artist Lucio Rossi (1821-1910). Visible in the apse are traces of frescos found during recent restoration work, which portray the prophet Isiah and King David and an exquisite walnut wood choir.
(photo Gabriella Fabbri)