Church of the Immaculate Conception, known as ``Our Lady of Mount Carmel``
Built in 1626 and dedicated to the Immaculate Conception, the church was designed to host a small community of Carmelite Fathers, which settled in Forlimpopoli in 1630 and subsequently suppressed in 1652. Having passed under the “jurisdiction” of the Abbey of St. Rufillus and then the Chapter of St. Peter’s of Rome, in the mid-19th century the building underwent extensive transformation in the neoclassical style that has remained almost unaltered to the present day. Having been transferred numerous times, the church is now owned by the Cassa dei Risparmi di Forlì Foundation.
Chiesa del Carmine – foto Enrico FilippiInside, the church has a single central nave and boasts an altarpiece of the Immaculate Conception by Ravenna-born artist Francesco Longhi (1544-1618) and important decorative embellishments in the entire presbytery area by local artist Paolo Bacchetti (1848-1886). In particular, visitors can admire the Assumption of the Virgin Mary in the vault, the Evangelists in the pendentives and St. Peter and St. Paul on the walls.